Blind Date With A Book

I love the month of February because it’s when my library runs their Blind Date With A Book event. They always provide so many “blind dates” that I find it difficult to choose just one book! They all sound really great!!!

So, here’s the one I chose this year…fun, bright yellow paper. The quote on the front is the first line of the book: “These are so good.” which has me very curious as to what book this is!!

It’s a slim volume and I have absolutely NO CLUE as to what this book will be about! Will it be fiction or non-fiction? I’m so curious that I need to just open and find out what it is! Here goes…

It’s called Photographic: The Life of Graciela Iturbide by Isabel Quintero and Zeke Pena. I’ve never heard of this book or the book’s subject, Graciela Iturbide. She’s a Mexican photographer. She says, “I see reality in another way with a camera. Looking through the lens, I peer into another world…”
Oh and did I mention that this is a graphic novel? And it also includes numerous photographs by Iturbide herself. This book was fascinating and I learned, first of all, that this photographer existed, and secondly, some things about her life and her style of photography. She only shoots in black and white because that’s reality to her, colour is fantasy. So interesting.

This is my 7th year taking part in this event and I’ve found that the anticipation has definitely been better than some of the books that I’ve blindly chosen based on very little information. But, it’s fun and it’s a really great way to possibly choose something outside of my comfort zone. I don’t know whether I would have picked this book off a shelf just on its own, without being my blind date. But I’m glad that I did…it’s always good to learn about something new!

Leave a comment